Knowledge Base

Changing Students' Groups

Introduction

Once groups are set up in Bb LEARN, instructors may find that one or two students need to be put in different groups than they were originally intended. Follow these steps to change one student’s group membership.

Step By Step

  1. Access the LEARN shell for the course where the groups are located.
  2. Under the Control Panel on the lower left, click “Users and Groups.”
  3. From the expanded menu, choose “Groups.”
  4. Locate the name of group that the student is currently in.
  5. Hover over the name of the group and click the drop down arrow that appears to the right of the group’s name.
  6. Choose “Edit Group” from the popup list of options.
    Screen capture of the group menu
  7. Scroll to the bottom of the “Edit Group” page. You will see a list of all the students in the group.
  8. Click the “X” all the way to the right of the student who is going to be reassigned.
    Screen capture of Group Membership Table
  9. Click Submit. This removes the student from the original group, making him/her available to be reassigned.
  10. Now hover over the name of the group you wish to reassign the student to and click the drop-down arrow.
  11. Choose “Edit Group.”
  12. Scroll all the way to bottom of the page to the list of group members. Click the “Add Users” button.
  13. In the pop-up window, check the box next to the student you want to add to the group and click Submit.
  14. Click submit again when you return to the Edit Group page to complete the addition of the student. If you do not click submit on the Edit Group page, the student will not be added.
    Screen Capture of Add Users window