Dave O'Brien Leadership Award

O'Brien Leadership Award Recipients

Dave O'Brien Leadership Award

The Dave O’Brien Leadership Award in Sport Management was established in 2014 to honor former Drexel Sport Management Program Director and Associate Teaching Professor Dave O’Brien.

O’Brien served as an Associate Teaching Professor and Program Director for Sport Management from 2007 until his passing in 2014 after a six-year battle with cancer. In addition, O’Brien taught sport law courses at Drexel University’s Kline School of Law. O’Brien was a beloved professor who was known for taking an active and supportive role in students’ lives.

The scholarship is available to pre-juniors, juniors and seniors with a 3.0 minimum cumulative GPA who have held or currently hold leadership positions on campus (SMTSU, Residential Life, Drexel Athletics, Greek Life, etc.).

Application information can be obtained by emailing The Dave O’Brien Leadership Award Committee.

The award selection committee will consist of members of the Sport Management faculty and the award is given on an annual basis and is non-renewable.

The award was initially endowed with a $25,000 donation. Our goal is to grow the endowment of this fund to help students in perpetuity.

If you would like to make a gift to support the Dave O’Brien Leadership Award, please click the Give Now button below.

Give Now

Dave O’Brien Leadership in Sport Management Award Winners

Chris Markowitz

Carter Caplan

Lindrit Shkodra

Laurelle Holley

Hayley Zedeck

Kevin Murray and Kevin Rossi