Skip to main content

About the DEI Action Group

Purpose and Process

The DEI Action Group was formed and charged with three primary goals:

  • Advancing access and equity
  • Recruiting and retaining a diverse student body and workforce
  • Supporting an inclusive campus culture

The group was tasked with examining student life, recruitment and retention, curricular and extracurricular programming, experiential learning opportunities, inclusive teaching practices, and policies and procedures with the goal of determining opportunities to create a culture of awareness and inclusion. Utilizing the data-driven New England Resource Center for Higher Education (NERCHE) Self-Assessment Rubric for the Institutionalization of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Higher Education, as well as a climate survey administered to faculty, staff and students, the group formed seven subcommittees to examine, assess and provide recommendations in the following areas:

  • Philosophy and Mission
  • Faculty Support
  • Curriculum
  • Staff Support
  • Student Support
  • Administrative Leadership
  • External Affairs and Community Partnerships

The LeBow DEI Action Group also collaborated with the Drexel University Anti-Racism Task Force, as well as other University partners focused on inclusive, equitable and diverse initiatives to ensure consistency and share resources.

Initial Work Phases

Phase I: Assessment:

After conducting a thorough review of the current state of diversity, equity and inclusion at LeBow, the DEI Action Group presented its Phase I Assessment to the Dean, the LeBow community and additional stakeholders in September 2020.

Phase II: Recommendations:

Following this assessment, the subcommittees developed actionable recommendations based on their findings. The group identified specific strategies to accomplish this vision, and these recommendations focus on five areas: inclusive culture, recruitment & retention, curriculum & research, learning & professional development, transparency & accountability and external relationships & community partnerships.

Ongoing DEI Action Group Work

After the original Philosophy and Mission was developed and the leadership structure designed, the ongoing committees were created:

The committees are led by a mixture of faculty and staff and meet on a regular basis throughout the year to develop, implement and monitor continuous progress on Drexel LeBow College of Business Diversity, Equity and Inclusion goals.

DEI Action Group Members and Subcommittees

After conducting a thorough assessment of the current state of diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) at LeBow, the DEI Action Group formed seven subcommittees to examine, assess and provide recommendations in the following areas:

Student Support
  • Shanika Adkins
  • Brandon Cisneros
  • Ricardo Cordero
  • Jocelyn Craighead
  • Jalil Davis
  • Camryn Honesty
  • Bradford Sodowick
Staff Support
  • Brian Ellis, CHAIR
  • Robert Gannone
  • Tina Lloyd
  • Bruce Pashko
  • Kimberly Williams
Faculty Support
  • Trina Andras, CHAIR
  • Stanley Braverman
  • Ashley Latorre
  • Natalie Pedersen
  • Samir Shah
Philosophy and Mission
  • Jeffery Levine, CHAIR
  • Maureen Breen
  • Meelan Dullabh
  • Angel Hogan
  • Emily Meekins
  • Kevin Montgomery
  • Alyssa Reiss
  • Diana Sandberg
  • Walter Keith Sheppard
  • Tahir Stills
  • Mark Stehr, CHAIR
  • Lauren D’Innocenzo
  • Lawrence Duke
  • Tony Grangel
  • Jahnavi Kalyan
  • Andres Bisono Leon
  • Stanley Ridgley
  • Kris Risi
  • Jeet Vaghela
Administrative Leadership
  • Brian Ellis, CHAIR
  • Abbey Dyer
  • Jayanth Patsamatla
  • Pawan Punera
  • Joshua Vallieth
External Affairs and Community Partnerships
  • Namit Bhargava
  • Monique Boskett
  • Handel Carterre
  • Danesha Chisholm
  • Allison Feld
  • Erika Griffin White

Connect with Us

Thank you for your interest in our DEI initiative and resources at Drexel LeBow. For more information and questions, please contact us. We look forward to hearing from you.

Trina Larsen Andras