Skip to main content

Philadelphia Eagles Owners Jeffrey and Christina Lurie Named 2010 Business Leaders of the Year

November 10, 2010

Philadelphia Eagles owners Jeffrey Lurie and Christina Lurie have been named Drexel University's LeBow College of Business 2010 Business Leaders of the Year. They will be honored at a luncheon attended by hundreds of Greater Philadelphia's top executives on December 2.

"Jeffrey and Christina are exemplary examples of business leaders who redefine what it means to be successful by leading their businesses and contributing to our communities in ways that improve our quality of life today, and lay the foundation for an even brighter tomorrow," said George Tsetsekos, Ph.D., dean of LeBow College of Business. 

The Luries have shaped the Eagles into one of the most successful organizations in professional sports on and off the field. In 1995, the Luries founded the Eagles Youth Partnership, the team's non-profit, charitable wing and one of the most innovative and dynamic non-profit organizations in the world of sports philanthropy.

A well-respected leader within the NFL, Jeffrey serves as chairman of the Los Angeles Stadium Working Group Committee and is an active member of the Finance, Broadcast, International and Super Bowl Advisory Committees.

Under Christina's direction, the Eagles developed a substantial Go Green program, a ground-breaking initiative to better the environment. Christina is also a successful film producer and co-founded Vox3 Films in 2004 to create a diversified slate of independent films.  She serves on numerous boards, including the Curtis Institute of Music and the Institute of Contemporary Art both in Philadelphia.  

Jeffrey and Christina Lurie also serve as board members on the Nancy Lurie Marks Family Foundation. In 2007, the Luries established the Lurie Family Foundation, focusing on health concerns, particularly in the areas of autism and cancer research. The Foundation also supports film documentaries addressing global issues through Screen Pass Pictures.  

Previous Drexel Business Leader of the Year recipients include Denis O'Brien, president and CEO of PECO and executive vice president of Exelon (2009); and David L. Cohen, Comcast Corporation executive vice president (2008).

The luncheon honoring the Luries will be held at noon at the Park Hyatt Philadelphia at The Bellevue. Proceeds from the event will support autism research at Drexel and academic programs to advance Drexel's LeBow College of Business. For information or to purchase tickets, contact Darin Pfeifer at 215.895.0333 or

Read more news