Skip to main content

Dave O'Brien Leadership Award in Sport Business

Dave O'Brien Leadership Award

The Dave O’Brien Leadership Award in Sport Business was established in 2014 to honor former Drexel Sport Business Program Director and Associate Teaching Professor Dave O’Brien.

O’Brien served as an associate teaching professor and program director for Sport Business from 2007 until his passing in 2014 after a six-year battle with cancer. In addition, O’Brien taught sport law courses at Drexel University’s Kline School of Law. O’Brien was a beloved professor who was known for taking an active and supportive role in students’ lives.

The scholarship is available to pre-juniors, juniors, seniors and graduate students with a 3.0 minimum cumulative GPA who have held or currently hold leadership positions on campus (DSBA, Residential Life, Drexel Athletics, Greek Life, etc.).

Application and Award Details

  • Application information can be obtained by emailing The Dave O’Brien Leadership Award Committee.
  • The award selection committee will consist of members of the Sport Business faculty.
  • The award is given on an annual basis and is non-renewable.

To learn more and apply, please contact Molly Sweeney at

Support the Dave O’Brien Leadership

The award was initially endowed with a $25,000 donation. Our goal is to grow the endowment of this fund to help students in perpetuity.

Give Now

Dave O’Brien Leadership in Sport Business Award Winners

Academic Year Recipients
2023 Hilary Sackor and Jamie Boyar
2022 Valentina Serna and Megan Trivelpiece
2021 Ezekiel Goldsmith
2020 Kyle Kaempf
2019 Chris Markowitz
2018 Carter Caplan
2017 Lindrit Shkodra
2016 Laurelle Holley
2015 Hayley Zedeck
2014 Kevin Murray and Kevin Rossi

Learn more about past recipients

Connect with Us

Thank you for your interest in the Dave O'Brien Leadership Award. We look forward to connecting with you.

Molly Sweeney