Skip to main content

LeBow to Honor Denis P. O'Brien With 2009 Business Leader Award

August 24, 2009

Drexel University's LeBow College of Business has announced that Denis P. O’Brien MBA '87, president and CEO of PECO Energy Company, will be honored as the 2009 Business Leader of the Year. Mr. O’Brien is responsible for leadership over PECO’s operations and overall performance associated with service reliability, customer satisfaction, and regulatory and external affairs.

Prior to being appointed to this leadership position, Mr. O’Brien served as vice president for operations with responsibility for engineering, construction, maintenance, and emergency response for the company’s natural gas and electric distribution systems. He was also PECO’s director of transmission and supply and director of operations for the Bucks-Montgomery Region. Mr. O’Brien started at PECO in 1979 as a summer intern and joined the staff in 1982.

He has served as a director for the Franklin Institute, WHYY, Inc., American Gas Association, Energy Association of Pennsylvania, Pennsylvania Business Roundtable, Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, and Select Greater Philadelphia.

In 2005, Mr. O’Brien was inducted into the Drexel 100, and in 2007, he served as Chair of the Drexel 100.

"Few leaders are as accomplished as Denis P. O'Brien," said Dr. George Tsetsekos, dean of LeBow College of Business. "In leading PECO, Denis oversees the power that millions on Pennsylvanians depend on everyday. He is also dedicated to giving back to the Greater Philadelphia Region. We are proud to be honoring Denis with this prestigious award."

Mr. O'Brien will be formally presented with the Business Leader of the Year Award at a luncheon in December.

Read more news