Rohm and Haas CEO Raj L.Gupta Named Drexel Business Leader of the Year

Raj L. Gupta, Drexel trustee and chairman, president and CEO of Rohm and Haas Company, received Drexel University’s 53rd Business Leader of the Year Award at a luncheon in his honor at the Park Hyatt at the Bellevue in Philadelphia on November 30.

Based in Philadelphia, Rohm and Haas is a global leader in the creation and development of innovative technologies and solutions for the specialty materials industry. The company’s technologies are found in a wide range of markets including: building and construction, electronics, industrial process, packaging, transportation, household and personal care, water, food and retail and paper. Its technologies and solutions help to improve life every day, around the world. Rohm and Haas’ annual sales were about $8 billion in 2005.

Gupta joined Rohm and Haas in 1971 and has served as financial analyst, financial manager of the subsidiary in the United Kingdom, business director for plastics in Europe, vice president, director of the Pacific Region and a member of the company’s Chairman’s Committee. He was named Rohm and Haas chairman and CEO in 1999 and became president in 2005.

Gupta earned an MBA in finance from Drexel’s LeBow College of Business in 1972. He has a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology and a master’s degree in operations research from Cornell University. Gupta is a member of the boards of Tyco, Vanguard Group, American Chemistry Council and Chemical Heritage Foundation.

The Business Leader of the Year luncheon benefits students in Drexel’s LeBow College of Business. The 2005 event, honoring C.R. “Chuck” Pennoni, chairman of the international engineering firm Pennoni Associates Inc., raised more than $400,000 in scholarships and capital support in Pennoni’s name.

Award Recipients 1954-2006

1954 Earl D. Johnson
1955 Edward R. Murrow
1956 Henry R. Luce
1957 General Douglas MacArthur
1958 Edward T. McCormick Jr.
1959 George W. Romney
1960 Dr. Thomas J. Watson
1961 Walter Reuther
1962 The Honorable Luther Hodges
1963 The Honorable Estes Kefauver
1964 Carl E. Reistle
1965 Charles H. Percy
1966 Harrison F. Dunning
1967 Sir Paul Chambers
1968 Dr. David Sarnoff
1969 John R. Bunting Jr.
1970 Meshulam Riklis
1971 John P. Bracken
1972 J. Willard Marriott Jr.
1973 Harold A. Shaub
1974 William T. Beebe
1975 John T. Connor
1976 Helen Honig Meyer
1977 Edward R. Kane
1978 William P. Tavoulareas
1979 James L. Ketelsen

1980 J. Donald Rauth
1981 Robert F. Dee
1982 M. Todd Cooke
1983 John J. Byrne
1984 William W. Hagerty
1985 Philip E. Lippincott
1986 Norman Braman
1987 Willard G. Rouse III
1988 Reverend Leon H. Sullivan
1989 George M. Ross
1990 James A. Hagen
1991 Dr. Harold A. Sorgenti
1992 Robert McClements Jr.
1993 Warren V. Musser
1994 John F. McCaughan
1995 Dennis J. Alter
1996 The Honorable Edward G. Rendell
1997 William J. Avery
1998 Nicholas DeBenedictis
1999 Lawrence A. Weinbach, C.P.A.
2000 Dr. Corbin A. McNeill Jr.
2001 The Honorable Thomas J. Ridge
2002 Joseph E. Neubauer
2003 G. Fred DiBona Jr.
2004 Betsy Z. Cohen
2005 C.R. “Chuck” Pennoni
2006 Raj Gupta

For more information about the luncheon: 215-895-2999 or