Dean’s Cup 2013: A Beautiful Day on the Links

A day in paradise. For golfers.

On September 23, Aronimink Golf Club played host once again to Drexel LeBow’s 11th Annual Dean’s Cup Golf Tournament. A record 33 foursomes took to the links for the annual fundraiser that helps support scholarships at LeBow. This year’s title sponsor was the Triumph Group, Inc. Company chairman, Richard Ill, a Drexel University trustee, played in a foursome with fellow trustee Chuck Pennoni.

Other Drexel trustees in attendance included Randall Burkert ’82, R. John Chapel ’67, Kathleen Chimicles ASA ’83, Dominic DiPiero ’64, Sean Gallagher ’93 and Charles K. Valutas ’73.

After stopping in to see the new building on its opening day, Gerri C. LeBow Hall architects Voith and Mactavish, Robert A.M. Stern Architects along with Keating Building Company and American Campus Communities came out to support the worthwhile event.

This year’s tournament winners were from Tasty Baking Company: Paul Ridder, Jamie Kalbach, Matt Forgie and AJ Ploszay. Second place went to R. John Chapel Jr.’s foursome, including Chapel, Al Lord, Keith Unikel and Jay Chapel. Third place was won by Ken Silverwood, Ed Chylinski, Mike Civitello and Doug Dick.

Following the day’s activities, golfers attended a reception at the stunning Aronimink Clubhouse followed by dinner and a presentation of the awards given by Interim Dean Frank Linnehan and George P. Tsetsekos, former dean of LeBow College.

Next year’s Dean’s Cup will be held September 22, 2014.

In This Story

Related Stories

Experiencing Success: A Year of Continuous Improvement

The past year was one of both change and continuity for Drexel LeBow. The biggest change occurred in the dean’s office, with George P. Tsetsekos, Ph.D., stepping down after 10 years at the helm. Our former dean remains with us as the George B. Francis Professor of Finance and the trajectory he established for LeBow College of Business continues to be realized through the achievements of 2012. Here are just a few highlights.

$1 Million Gift to LeBow Creates Chapel Leadership Development Program

Drexel Trustee R. John Chapel Jr. ’67, and his wife, Jinnie, have committed $1 million to establish the Chapel Leadership Development Program.

John and Jinnie Chapel